was taken in regards to the CBdAA request for Ontario to host the National Show in 2015. A split vote with thirteen in favor, and twelve opposed was the result. The result of this vote was intended to give the new Board of Directors some direction on how to approach this request. While there was no guest speaker on hand this year, many found the added time a great chance to create general chatter amongst the group, or catch up with those they had not seen or talked to in quite some time.

The ever popular mini auction was once again a hit. It should come as no surprise that with the increased number of members came an increased number of auction items. Some ever classic bidding wars took place, with the two Amigo’s, Paul Fee and Nicholas Boyd locking horns for the famous “Never Used” Pitch Fork. In the end, Nicholas outwitted Paul who ended up the winning bidder, taking his third tour of duty with the prized fork. Special thanks to Gary Young for making sure the Fork was in attendance even though he unfortunately could not be there. Another big hit was Ian Kruis “50 Shades of Grey” Peacock feathers. While not a top seller, this item managed to drum up those most laughter and one liners. In total, the mini auction was able to raise $1303 for the association. Thanks to all who donated and purchased items.

Sadly, the Board said goodbye to three well respected members who opted not to run in 2015. Ashley McNevan’s terms was up, and after being very involved, Ashley decided to take a year off. As most have watched her grow up in the breed, we all know how hard working and involved Ashley has made herself. She serves as a Director on the Canadian Board, while chasing around her young daughter, managing a cow herd and working with a large horse herd. Its an unfortunate loss for our breed, but Ashley will remain active at all of the events including in the show ring, while taking a much deserved break from stretching herself thin. Thank you Ashley for all of your hardwork and dedication. Your skills, knowledge and drive will be sorely missed on the Board.

Dennis Elliott also opted not to return in 2015 to the Board. Dennis entered the breed after winning a Raffle Heifer, quickly becoming active and growing a powerful herd, with some of the top females and well known bull Arshas Polled Trooper who recently had a bull sired by him sell for $50,000. Along with his wife Debbie, the two have served on the Board in various aspects for a number of years, doing thankless amounts of work. This past year Dennis was the Vice President for the Assoication, while Debbie continued to be our fantastic treasurer. Actively involved with two breeds, Im sure both will enjoy their new found free time. As constant leaders who got stuff done, their prompt and organized work will be greatly missed moving forward. On behalf of the membership, thank you Dennis and Debbie for all you have done. We look forward to continue to see you around at the various events.

Former President Dave McNevan will also not be returning in 2015. A driving force within the breed and catalyst for new ideas over the years, Dave brought his vast knowledge and leadership back to the breed for 2014. It would be hard to argue that Dave has not been the face of the breed in Ontario for 30 plus years, doing tireless work in the show and sales ring. In speaking with Dave he felt it was time to turn the reigns over to a newer generation, who brought fresh ideas and initiatives to meet up with todays demands. He said he would remain just a phone call away, for anyone who needed help with anything. On behalf of the entire membership, we would like to thank Dave for his ongoing efforts, promoting and supporting the breed in a number of ways. We look forward to seeing Dave at the numerous Association functions and around the sales barn.

Please make sure to look at the Current Board of Directors page to become up to date with your new Board and their positions. As per the request at the AGM, all Board Minutes have become password protected. If you are a member in good standing, please contact Nicholas Boyd or Steven Acres for the password so you can view the Minutes.